District Support

Who ISTAC Collaborates with to Support Districts

As the technical assistance arm of the Illinois State Board of Education's (ISBE) division of Special Education, ISTAC provides differentiated support for districts guided by Multi-tiered System of Supports (MTSS), Safe and
Successful Schools
, and Family Engagement frameworks.

ISTAC partners with the Illinois Center for School Improvement (CSI) to enhance supports for districts at three tiers of service based on the ISBE Eight Essential Elements of Effective Education​ and related research on the school improvement process.

What Are The Different Levels Of Services ISTAC Provides?

  • Foundational Services are available for all districts and include research-based resources, area-based professional development, and a statewide team of content specialists and capacity-building coaches. 

  • Focus Services are available to individual districts and groups of districts in an area District Leadership Team (DLT) Learning Network to target achievement gaps.

  • Priority Services target large-scale system change and governance to districts individually and in groups through an area DLT Learning Network and onsite coaching.

What Does Technical Assistance/Coaching Look Like At Each Level?

ISTAC provides differentiated technical assistance/coaching to districts based 
upon 1) ISBE classification and 2) State Performance Plan (SPP) findings.

Check back to this page to learn more about TA support at each of the
following levels:

      • Priority District Support:
      • Focus District Support:
      • Foundational District Support: